Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - ArcGIS user starting with Manifold
archiTechy2 post(s)
#12-Oct-21 22:46

To whom it may concern,

I am a Landscape Architecture Student familiar with ArcGIS Pro. I ran across the manifold forum while searching how to import ige files to Arc-Pro. Manifold seems like a huge time saver and I am trying to evaluate if it is worth my time to learn.

How steep is the learning curve for Manifold. Is it something someone with an IT, ArcGIS Pro and architect student background could pick up from 3-12 hours of use?

Best Regards

artlembo

3,216 post(s)
#13-Oct-21 00:10

It is definitely a different way of thinking about things. If you search this forum you will see that lots of people caution new users to not take shortcuts and really read the documentation.

I create a lot of training courses using Manifold GIS software and open source. I just recently put together a new course on using Manifold GIS with ArcGIS Pro. this is a very good way to focus your training in a short 3–8 hour training workshop.

I actually started creating all of my Manifold training courses because I had almost given up on using Manifold many years ago because it wasn’t quite like the other products I worked with. I wanted to help people get over that hump and not give up too soon. 15 years later and I’m still at it :-)

ColinD

2,031 post(s)
#13-Oct-21 01:29

I have been using Manifold since about M4 I think and it was my introduction to GIS so I became steeped in the Manifold way of doing things. Over time I have observed others using Arcxxx and noted how much more complicated things were/are. Simple stuff like having lines, areas and points in the one drawing.

Also not to be understated is the value of the responsiveness of the Manifold team to addressing any issues that might arise. Sometimes as fast as a few days. And this forum is a goldmine.

Aussie Nature Shots

archiTechy2 post(s)
#13-Oct-21 02:03