Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Running a script from another script in an M9 project
gjsa100 post(s)
#23-Oct-20 00:45

Hi, I have a VBScript in my project and I want it to start another independent VBScript under certain conditions.

What is the sequence of commands needed in the first VBScript to call/run another script defined in the M9 project ?

So far I have found this:

http://www.georeference.org/forum/t148566.9#148604

... but I can't adapt that approach (which triggers the secondary script via a query) to run the script as a whole (as it would run if I right-clicked on the script and selected 'run'). Note that the second script contains a main sub procedure and an auxillary sub procedure that is reqd by main.

I guess you could say, why don't I just put the procedures in the second script into the first script and call/run it that way? Because I want to call the procedure in that script sometimes from within the first script and at other times, independently.

gjsa100 post(s)
#25-Oct-20 21:50

One obvious solution is to duplicate the code in sub procedures required into both scripts. This is what I'm doing, it just means I need to be careful if I modify the procedure (bug fix, improvements) in once script to remember to include those modifications in the second.

adamw

10,447 post(s)
#02-Dec-20 15:05

We can allow calling a script from a different script in the API.