Subscribe to this thread
Home - General / All posts - Import Census ACS geodatabase
teckstein6 post(s)
#24-May-16 14:28

Is it possible to import the nationwide Census tract database - located here https://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/data/tiger-data.html - directly into Manifold? I want to be able to create thematic maps of some of the basic demographic data at the tract level as well as some customize tract data that I create in Excel and import as a table into Manifold.

An alternative would be to import all the state-level shapefiles, cut and paste to build a national, census-tract map and connect tract data to that, but I was hoping to start with a nation-level census tract map to start with.

As is probably obvious, I am a beginner, so excuse me if there is an obvious answer that I am missing when reading (but likely not fully understanding) the documentation.

thanks.

Dimitri

7,413 post(s)
#24-May-16 15:47

No worries. Pick the format you want to import and then visit the user manual, going to the Import and Export book and then the Import Drawing book. Note there are topics there for importing from shapefiles, tiger line format, etc.

I see from https://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/data/tiger-line.html they now have 2015 edition as shapefiles. You can download from their web interface at https://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/geo/shapefiles/index.php or from their FTP site.

It's mildly annoying they offer tracts by state and don't have an option for "entire US" but maybe they have that on their FTP site. I haven't been able to connect to their published FTP site (takes too long to respond).

teckstein6 post(s)
#03-Jun-16 18:35

Thanks -- I just did the shape files downloads and avoid the geodatabase hassles. Took a little more time to pull in all 50 states, but it worked.

tjhb
10,094 post(s)
#04-Jun-16 00:25